Liftoff: The Ziggurat has Landed

As the singer of the theme to Star Trek Enterprise said, “It’s been a long road, getting from there to here.”

Sitting here typing this, I realize it’s been a good three years since I finished the first draft of The Ziggurat of Doom, and I didn’t actually publish it until yesterday. That’s a long time even for a book set in the thirties, and I feel I owe an explanation.

The first part is pretty simple. Nobody publishes an unedited first draft, and I’m no different. My first draft was done in February of 2o2o, so I sent the book to betas at the beginning of March, and finally got it back in the middle of June. Revisions took a while, but I was on track for a fall release.

Then, on October 28, 2020, my partner of over 20 years died.

Needless to say, that hit me hard. I couldn’t write for over two years. It also didn’t help that our KDP account was in her name, which caused its own headaches. Luckily, those headaches are mostly gone, though Giant Robots of Tunguska is still stuck in review hell while Amazon figures out that I do indeed have the rights to put it on the new account.

In the meantime, I’m working on getting the second omnibus up and writing book seven–The Skyscraper Thief. I’ve also added hardcovers to the available options.

Anyway, I have a bunch of updates to make so I’d best be about it.

Happy reading and I’ll see you in Yesterday’s Tomorrow…

Author: Dave Robinson

Dad, comic fan, hockey fan. Writer of Doc Vandal

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.