Updates, Alternate Worlds, and the Chrysler Building

The picture at the head of this post, both is and is not the Chrysler Building. In our world, it most definitely is the Chrysler Building; in Doc Vandal’s world, it is the DeSoto Building. In the grand scheme of things it’s not a huge change, just another automobile marque used by the same carmaker. It’s much like the fact Doc’s world has a Republic State Building; it’s a small way to make it clear we’re talking about somewhere else.

I chose this picture because the DeSoto Building is an important location in The Skyscraper Thief, and I’m getting very near to the end of that book. As of this writing, I’m just over five thousand words short of my target length, and should be done in about a week–though my daughter’s upcoming 21st birthday and three new potential RPG contracts may push it closer to the end of the month.

Sadly, that doesn’t mean it will be out next month. Once it’s done, I need to do at least one revision pass and then send it out for beta-reading. It also needs a cover, and while I have the idea and the artist lined up, that will still take time. My current plan is to have it out towards the end of summer, around back-to-school.

Dates for the next one are more nebulous, so forgive me for not providing any beyond the fact that I should be starting it this month.

In the meantime, The Ziggurat of Doom and Against the Eldest Flame have both been featured on the SFF Book Bonanza website this month the former in the new releases, the latter in the 99cent specials page. It features lots of awesome books every month so check it out.

My next newsletter, hopefully due out later this week, will have a review of the first Doc Brazen book, so take keep an eye out for that.

That’s about it for today’s Welcome to Yesterday’s Tomorrow. Keep reading, review what you read, and if you can, sign up for the newsletter!

Author: Dave Robinson

Dad, comic fan, hockey fan. Writer of Doc Vandal

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.